Higher Education in Georgia

The type of higher education institutions (HEIs) in Georgia has been determined by the Law on Higher Education (see below), whereas number of stately recognized HEIs is not stable and fluctuations reflect dynamic process of authorisation and accreditation.

There are three types of higher education institutions (HEIs):

  • research authorised to award all three academic degrees (Bachelor, Master and PhD)universities:
  • without a notable research function, implementing first and second cycles of higher education;teaching universities:
  • colleges: implementing higher professional and Bachelor programmes

HEIs can be publicly or privately founded and funded, but quality criteria are same for all institutions despite of their legal status.

Currently there are 62 stately recognized (authorised) HEIs in Georgia, among them 8 - Orthodox Divinity HEIs. The updated list could be found here. The table below refers only to 54 secular HEIs:


HEIs Public Private Total
University 12 18 30
Teaching University 6 13 19
College 1 4 5
Total 19 35 54


73% of HEIs are located in the capital city, Tbilisi. The total number of students in all HEIs is 167 247 (as at February 2015). The breakdown of students in the different higher education cycles is given below:


  Bachelor Medical education Master PhD Total
sum 156493 19777 27891 8482 212643 
% of total 73.59% 9.30% 13.12% 3.99% 100%


In the short period since Georgia joined the Bologna process in 2005, an impressive reform package for the higher education system was introduced.

The reform package consists of a series of legal regulations (Law of Georgia on Higher Education, adopted in December 2004), the establishment of new institutions - National Examination CentreNational Centre for Educational Quality Enhancement –accreditation agency, Shota Rustaveli National Science Foundation and various other initiatives.

The three-cycle higher education system has been implemented in Georgia in 2005. Bachelor, master and doctoral programmes have already been introduced in all stately recognized HEIs, as well as ECTS and Diploma Supplement. All students below doctoral level are enrolled in the two-cycle degree system (except for certain specific disciplines such as medicine). Bachelor programmes cannot comprise less than 180 ECTS credits and Master programmes less than 60 ECTS. Doctoral programmes duration is minimum three years and teaching component consist of 60 ECTS.

More information about Georgia's higher education system:

Youth in Action & Sport

Ms Manana Kavtaradze, Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs of Georgia

Youth პროექტი

Erasmus+ Youth Information Center in Georgia 

Erasmus Student Network

Erasmus Student Network in Georgia

Horizon 2020

Ms Natia Gabitashvili, Ministry of Education and Science